Home/Biography, North America/John Muir: The Eight Wilderness Discovery Books

John Muir: The Eight Wilderness Discovery Books


In stock

By John Muir,   With an Introduction by Terry Gifford

In stock


Published jointly by Diadem Books, London, and The Mountaineers, Seattle, 1995, Third Impression (First Published 1992), D/w, Fine.   John Muir (1838-1914) was an influential Scottish-American naturalist, author, environmental philosopher, botanist, zoologist, glaciologist and early advocate for the preservation of wilderness in the United States.  This first omnibus of Muir’s work includes the following titles: The Story of My Boyhood and Youth (1913), A Thousand Mile Walk to the Gulf (1916), My First Summer in the Sierra (1911), The Mountains of California (1894), Our National Parks (1901), The Yosemite (1912), Travels in Alaska (1915), Steep Trails (1918).

Additional information

Weight1.5 kg